GURPS · Worked Example

Reflections: How long did it take?

(For those who came in late: having completed the initial sketch of a new fantasy world, I’m now reflecting on how it went.)

This series of posts took two and a half weeks.  I think I averaged about 30/45 mins work on it every day.  If that estimate is right, then I spent about 9-12 hours in total.

Hourglass.jpg
An impressively relevant hourglass.  

That’s quite a long time!  Is that a problem?

In a sense, yes.  I tried to design the world creation system so that anyone could get together with their gaming group and build the world collectively in the first session of play.  Then you’d all go home and make characters, bringing them back the next week to start play.  9-12 hours is clearly too long for a first session, for most people!

And yet in fact the actual world creation took up a very small proportion of those 9-12 hours – the vast majority of my time was spent doing stuff that was only necessary because I was formatting it all for the blog.  Mostly I was writing up posts, making little zoom-ins of the world map, finding pictures to put in, formatting things correctly, etc etc.

Hourglass1.jpg
An UNBELIEVABLY relevant WORLD CREATION  hourglass!   Astounding!

When I’m not blogging about it, it normally takes me about 2-3 hours to make a fantasy world using this system – which I think is about right for a single session of collaborative play.

One proviso: obviously I know the system well, and I’m sure it would take a fair bit longer if I were doing it for the first time.

Moral of the story: the timing seems ok to me.  But if you’re planning to lead a group through this collective world creation process, then you might want to do a trial run at home first, just to familiarize yourself with the system!

In upcoming posts: what parts of the world seem the most exciting?  And which seem like they might need some more work?

Leave a Reply

